Past Winners

Past Award Winners

ECEDHA is pleased to recognize the following past winners of its prestigious awards:


Year Robert M. Janowiak Outstanding
Leadership and Service Award
Innovative Program Award Diversity Award Industry Award CHECE Canadian Leadership and Service Award ECE Technology Innovation Award

Rising to the Challenge Award

2023 Dave Wilson, Revidyne and Daniel Stancil, North Carolina State University  UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ken Connor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

    Brian Skromme and Srividya Bansal, Arizona State University   
2022 Mohamed Chouikha, Prairie View A&M University           Doug Mercer, Analog Devices

Sid Deliwala, University of Pennsylvania and Zhihua Qu, University of Central Florida

Rania Hussein, University of Washington Renetta Tull, University of California, Davis       Doug Mercer, Analog Devices and the Department of ECE, University of Alberta
2019 Khalil Najafi, University of Michigan Anthony Maciejewski, RED Program Colorado State University Agnieszka Miguel, Seattle University Analog Devices Dennis Peters, Memorial University of Newfoundland Shawn Jordan, Arizona State University  
2018 John Peeples, The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina John Booske, Wisconsin Collaboratory for Enhanced Learning (WisCEL) University of Wisconsin, Madison Pamela Cosman, University of California, San Diego Jay Alexander, Keysight Technologies
2017 Stephen Phillips, Arizona State University Robi Polikar, Rowan University Eve Riskin, University of Washington Vincent Hu, Intel, Programmable Solutions Group
2016 Tsuhan Chen, Cornell University and Greg Peters, Keysight Technologies Kenneth Connor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Athina Petropulu, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey Igor Alvarado, National Instruments
2015 Subrahmanyam (Mani) Venkata, GE Grid Solutions Venkataramanan (Ragu) Balakrishnan, Purdue University C.L Max Nikias, University of Southern California and Susan M. Lord, University of San Diego Craig Miller, Harris Corporation
2014 Gary May, Georgia Institute of Technology Frederic Mailhot, University de Sherbrooke, Electrical and Computer Engineering Departments Tamara Brown, Praxair Steve Lyle, Texas Instruments
2013 Sherra Kerns, Olin College of Engineering and T.E. Schlesinger, Johns Hopkins University Dipankar Raychaudhuri for WINLAB (the Wireless Information Network Laboratory) at Rutgers University and Don Millard, NSF Polina Holland, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Robert Fischell, Fischell Biomedical, LLC and Angel Medical Systems, Inc. and Wanda Reder, S&C Electric Company
2012 Kishan Baheti, National Science Foundation and W. Kenneth Jenkins, The Pennsylvania State University Ned Mohan (University of Minnesota) for Reinvigorating Electric Energy Education Nationwide Craig Scott, Morgan State University  
2011 Gerald R. Kane, University of Tulsa      
2010 Mark J.T. Smith, Purdue University Mohammed Shahidehpour, Zuyi Li, and Andrew Barbeau (Illinois Institute of Technology) for the Center for Electricity Innovation    
2009 J. David Irwin, Auburn University Jill Auerbach (Georgia Institute of Technology) for the Opportunity Research Scholars Program    
2008 Kenneth Connor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Stephen Williams, Joerg Mossbrucker, Owe Peterson (Milwaukee School of Engineering) for the International Exchange Program in Electrical Engineering    
2007 Stephen M. Goodnick, Arizona State University David Meyer and Cordelia Brown, Purdue University, for the Direct Problem Solving Program    
2006 James H. Aylor, University of Virginia      
2005 David Soldan, Kansas State University Edward J. Coyle and Leah H. Jamieson, Purdue University for EPICS    
2004 Roger P. Webb, Georgia Institute of Technology      
2003 John A. Orr, Worcester Polytechnic Institute      
2002 William D. Brown      
2001 Sherra E. Kerns      
2000 Edward W. Ernst Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute    
1999 Paul Penfield, Jr.      
1998 Marion O. Hagler      
1997 Rodney J. Soukup Carnegie Mellon University    
1996 Timothy N. Trick and Robert L. Sulivan      
1995 Keith R. Carver and Bruce A. Eisenstein, Special Service Award to Robert M. Janowiak      
1994 David A. Conner      
1993 William A. Blackwell      
1992 Roy H. Mattson      
1991 A. Wayne Bennett Eli Fromm and Robert Quinn    
1991 Recognition of the original organizers of the Association of EE Department Heads: John R. Clark, L.D. Harris, Fred B. Haynes, George B. Hoadley, William L. Hughes, R.K. Moore, Glen A. Richardson, G. Dale Sheckel, Harold A. Suppler, and John G. Truxal