ECEDHA ABET Virtual Workshop

Recorded: May 21, 2020 at 12:00pm EDT

Brought to you by:

View Webinar


View the PowerPoint Slide Presentation Here


Please also watch the Daina Briedis webinar "New Outcomes: Transition as Opportunity" which can be found at: 

Accreditation criteria information can be found at:



Mark Law
Professor, ECE Department Director of Honors Program
University of Florida

Mark Law is the Director of the University of Florida Honors Program. Previously, he has been Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering (2009-14) and chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering (2003-09). He received his B.S. from Iowa State University in 1981, his M.S. from Stanford University in 1982, and the Ph.D. degree from Stanford University in 1988. His current research interests are in integrated circuit devices and reliability. Dr. Law was named an IEEE Fellow in 1998 for his contributions to integrated circuit process modeling and simulation. He has won several national and international awards based on this work including a 1992 NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow, 1993 SRC Technical Excellence Award, the 2006 SRC Aristotle Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Advising, the 2010 IEEE EDS J.J. Ebers Award, the 2013 SIA University Research Award, and the 2013 SEMI North America award. At UF, he has been named the College of Engineering Teacher of the Year in 1996-97 and a UF Research Fellow in 1998. He is a member of the IEEE Faculty and Department Development Committee. He was a member of the ABET commission. He was editor-in-chief of the IEEE Journal on Technology Computer Aided Design from 1997-2002, and has served as an editor of IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing. He was the vice-president for technical activities of the IEEE Electron Device Society (EDS) from 2003-2006. He chaired the 1997 Simulation of Semiconductor Process and Devices Meeting, the 1999, 2002, and 2008 silicon front-end processing symposium of the Materials Research Society, the 2005 Ultra-Shallow Junctions workshop and chaired the 2000 International Electron Devices Meeting. He has served on technical committees for several other conferences. Dr. Law has written over 200 papers in the area of process and device modeling and has advised 25 Ph.D. students. He has been involved in more than $20 million of funding during his career. He is an IEEE EDS distinguished lecturer. He is a member of the Electrochemical Society, American Physical Society, Materials Research Society, and American Society for Engineering Education.

Stephen M. Phillips, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor, Electrical Engineering Department Director, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
Arizona State University

Stephen M. Phillips currently serves as Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering. He earned the BS degree in electrical engineering from Cornell University and the MS and PhD degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University. From 1988 to 2002, he was a faculty member at Case Western Reserve University. From 1995 to 2002, he also served as director of the Center for Automation and Intelligent System Research, an industry-university-government collaborative at Case. In 2002, he joined the faculty of Arizona State University as professor of electrical engineering and was appointed department chair in 2005. He currently leads the School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering as its first director. He has held visiting positions at the NASA Lewis (now Glenn) Research Center and the University of Washington. He is a professional engineer registered in Ohio and has serves as a program evaluator for ABET Inc. He has served as the elected president of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association and the ABET Board of Delegates and the IEEE Educational Activities Board. His teaching and research interests include applications and integration of control systems, microsystems and microelectromechanical systems as well as the assessment and improvement of novel delivery methods for accredited degree programs.


Sarah Rajala
Dean Emerita, College of Engineering
Iowa State University

Sarah Rajala served as the 12th dean of the College of Engineering at Iowa State University from 2013 - 2019. She led the largest college on campus with responsibility for more than 9,500 students, 500 faculty and staff, 12 academic majors, multiple research centers and programs, and 11 buildings that comprise the engineering complex. Rajala’s previous leadership positions were at Mississippi State University as dean of engineering from 2008-13, and chair of the electrical and computer engineering department prior to being named dean. She also served at North Carolina State University as associate dean for research and graduate programs and associate dean for academic affairs in the college of engineering. She had a distinguished career as a professor and center director prior to moving into administrative positions. Rajala is an internationally known leader who has served on many academic and association boards. She is a past president of the American Society for Engineering Education and past chair of the Global Engineering Deans Council. In 2016 she was awarded national engineer of the year award by the American Association of Engineering Societies; and received the 2015 national Harriett B. Rigas Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Education Society honoring outstanding female faculty. She has consistently broken new ground for women in engineering and serves as a role model for young women. She is passionate about diversity of thought and culture, especially as it relates to the college environment. Rajala earned her bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Michigan Technological University and master’s and Ph.D. degrees from Rice University. She is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, ABET, American Society for Engineering Education and IEEE.



View Webinar